Project Vishera 6300 Components!!

I have been trying to get this project out there. Project Vishera was introduced last week, but that was just an introduction. The introduction can be read here. To sum this up, I need a new computer that’s powerful enough to play the upcoming Steam games on. But not too expensive to burn a whole in my wallet. So, Project Vishera was created, and I want to share all I can with the online world.

This project will also give me a boost to another project that I have in mind that will be introduced mid-way through all of the posting of Project Vishera. So, there will be many unboxing and installing videos. Along with that, there will be many Linux videos with “How To Videos” and “Linux Distribution Reviews” and “Overviews of many different Linux things.

All links are the title of component.
CPU:
     I chose this part because it was affordable and powerful for my needs. I knew I wanted to build a AMD computer over an Intel.
Motherboard: 
     This was an affordable motherboard that offers all that I need for now. The downside of this motherboard is that it does not support SLI, but does support Crossfire, which is useless to me because AMD GPU’s are crappy with Linux.
Graphics Card:
      I bought this graphics card for a few reasons.

  1. It’s a Nvidia – Linux’s support with AMD graphics card is not very good, and many of them do not work. So, I had to go with a Nvidia card. 
  2. The price was good for this card, and it’s not one of those crazy ones at $300. For what I will be using with this card, this will be good enough. At least until I upgrade my motherboard and get another one of these. SLI BABY!! 

 
Power Supply Unit: 
Corsair Enthusiast Series CP-9020039-NA650W ATX12V v2.31 / EPS12V 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Modular High Performance Power Supply

     I chose this PSU for a few reason‘s. First off, in many of my videos, I say that I really do not like wired, and yes this is really true, so a modular PSU is a must for me. At the time I bough this, it was much cheaper than what it is right now. So I bought it at the right time.

 
 Case:
Antec Three Hundred ATX Mid-Tower Computer Gaming Case 
     This case was not as stylish as I was looking for, but I easily found out that cheap with style = bad computer cases. So, thou there is no windows to see everything inside the case, it’s a really good case to work with. Room for everything I need, and the material does not seem to be cheap. It’s a good quality case.
  

Case Fans: 
Cooler Master SickleFlow 120mm Blue LED Computer Case Fan

     What is a computer without any glowing lights? Oh, and something extra to keep it cool. Honestly, I don’t think I need 2 of these, but they sure will make my computer look cool.

SSD: 
Crucial m4 64GB 2.5-Inch Solid State Drive SATA 6Gb/s CT064M4SSD2
     This SSD will mainly be used to install the operating system and the software that I get off the software center. I got this because everyone is saying that this makes everything soo much faster, so I thought if this is true, then this is for me. I like when things are faster. On the computer that is. Slow computers with lag are just about the 2 most annoying things in the world.



HDD:
Western Digital Caviar Black 1 TB SATA III 7200 RPM 64 MB Cache Internal Desktop Hard Drive Bulk/OEM – WD1002FAEX
     This, for preformance and what’s its made for is the right one for me. This is where all the files I use will go on. It offers more space than I believe I can even use, so this will be something good for me. 









RAM: 
Crucial Ballistix Sport 8GB kit (4GBx2) DDR3-1600 1.5V 240-Pin UDIMM BLS2CP4G3D1609DS1S00
     I did not buy this on Amazon, but bought it from a friend who hasn’t opened it. Got a discount from his, so was better there than Amazon. This will be more RAM than I should need, but will sometime do another upgrade to add more. Stay tuned for that.

Monitor:
Asus VS229H-P 22-Inch-Class (21.5″) LED Monitor
     I have not owned a desktop computer in many years now. So I needed a monitor. (From the last one it’s like 15 years old). This one, combined with my Amazon gift cards that I have been accumulating from Sponsor Apps on my iPhone (Read More Here) cost me $14.00. I got this used instead of new because it was covered by Amazon with the same warranty and everything. So, why not save a bit of money.

So there we have it. A list of all the components of Project Vishera 6300. Stay tuned in all the coming weeks for the videos, and blog post about each component in depth. If you are not already, subscribe to my Youtube Channel, and follow me on Google Plus.
Also, Follow me on this Blog, All this would be excellent. And thank you. Please leave a comment discuss. Thank you for reading!

  

7 thoughts on “Project Vishera 6300 Components!!

  1. It's a nice system! If you ever need a RAM upgrade, just shoot me an email.

  2. I'm thinking about getting the 650 ti for my Hackintosh, but the EVGA version.

  3. Sounds good! I really like the fact that you did your homework before the build. Have several computers that were given to me that need to be brought back to life so I will be doing something similar soon. Plus like you, I have much interest in Linux, so that is what they will be running as well. What distro/s are you running btw?

    • That’s an excellent way to bring back a broken computer, especially those computers that has seen their days. Linux can bring back a computer that’s had it’s time, but not over with. I would like to hear how your projects go with those computers. I’d be happy to accept guest blogs especially on the topic of Linux.

      Right now, I am running Ubuntu Studio 12.04 with the Xfce Desktop Environment on my main computer. It’s absolutely beautiful. I wrote a post about it a while ago. Search Xfce in the search box on this site to read more about it.

      • Ok sounds good, I will be more than happy to guest blog for you and of course the same invitation is extended to you as well. I have lots and lots of posts that I think you would enjoy as well as most of them are about my adventures with Linux.

      • A site all about Linux. Would enjoy reading about that. I hope to be doing much more writing about Linux now that the build is complete.

      • Well, not ALL about Linux there are articles about nature and other random things but Linux does make up the majority. It’s been a lot more fun than I could have ever imagined.

Leave a Reply

