What I Want to See at Google I/O

Google I/O is right around the corner coming up in May 15-17. which happens to actually be my birthday, so I get to see some great things this year, on the perfect date, so thanks Google for having I/O on my birthday. There are some things that I want to go in depth about that I really want to see from Google this year at I/O. The first thing I want to see is a new Nexus device of either the Nexus 7, 10, or even the 4. Though they may not be sticking with those numbers, you should know what I mean. The second thing I want to see at Google I/O is a new version of Android. Though this is basically going to happen there are some things that I really want to see in the new Android that I think are being lacked right now. Lastly the third thing I want to see at google I/O is Google Glass. I am loving the hype of Glass because if the innovation it is setting for everyone out there.

I currently have a Google Nexus 7 tablet, and I honestly love this thing. But if there is a newer tablet out there, I am all out for getting the latest and greatest, especially when the tablet is at the low price it is as now. The original Nexus 7 tablet started out at $199 for a 8GB model, and that is the model that I currently have. As the year progressed they released a newer version for the Nexus making the standard 8Gb moved up to 16Gb for $199, and the optional 32GB for those users who wanted extra space. What I want to see from the newer version Nexus 7 is a complete new design for the tablet. It doesn’t matter to me who makes the tablet, but the design is something that I would like to see redesigned. With a new design, one thing I really want to see is a option for an SD card. Having this option would be excellent for installing media on them like music, photos, or other content on there that would otherwise take up space on the original drive. Many manufactures don’t allow for you to install apps on the SD card which I would like to see that happen in the future. That would turn a 16GB Nexus into a 80GB Nexus for those who have a 64GB SD card, which in my opinion, if you can have apps installed on there like that, is really worth it.

The second thing I want to see from Google I/O is a new version of Android. As we know it, we are getting that and it is called “Key Lime Pi” and this is Android 5.0. Though Android is my favorite platform for mobile devices, and I am a huge phandroid I will be one to admit that it is not perfect, and there are things I want that I am just not getting out of it. The first thing is being able to easily uninstall apps from the homepage. This is something that you are able to do on iOS and I really appreciate this feature when it comes to all the sponsor apps that I try out for gift cards but no longer want the apps. I find it very annoying that I have to have a 3rd party app, or manually uninstall every app from the settings. The second thing I would like to see it better touch capabilities with the whole touch screen experience. I think Ubuntu is heading down this road with all the gestures there are, but I would like to see Android take better advantage of this. Though it can complicate things at times with how Microsoft came out with their Windows 8, it was a complete change and many people did not like them for doing this at all. Android doesn’t have to rush this, but I do want to see them take advantage of gestures on screen.

Lastly, and most importantly I want to see Google Glass. This may be Google’s biggest project yet in leading our society in the right direction towards the future. I never got to use Glass, or never got to see it in person, but I can only imagine one day this being on my head what it will feel like. I want to see Google demonstrate this again with the progress they made with the project and hopefully see them even be launched for the public someday in the Play store. I once watched this ad on Youtube (Sometimes I do actually watch ads) and this one just stood out to me because it was basically Google Glass and how possible it is to fit in our daily lives. This is something you have to watch.

These are the three things I really want to see from Google I/O this year. Some I am expecting as we all are, and some are just my opinions. A new Nexus device preferably a Nexus 7 with a new design. Some key features in the new Android “Key Lime Pi” like uninstalling apps from the home screen and better advantage of touch gestures. Lastly Google’s biggest project. Google Glass. I have a feeling this is going to be taking all the talk in the keynotes when I/O is over with.

What do you want to see from Google I/O this year? Please let me know in the comments. Feel free to participate in the Giveaway happening on SFI right now.

Leave a Reply

