Folding@Home

I was going to write this post yesterday, but got caught up in a conversation with a friend. Anyway, so Saturday is the day for this post. This post is much less tech savvy than most of my other content, and more science. Though I’m not a science expert, certainly not a Biology person as I figured out with my grades Freshman year, this is what the topic relates to. So, without further ado, let me explain.

Folding @ Home the most basic way I can think to explain this is it uses your computers resources, like the CPU and the GPU to solve some very complex biological problems that humans can’t solve, or would take years to solve, like Matrices in computer programming, or Mathematics. It runs through this multiple times, and then it sends it back to Stanford, which is the school which started this program in 2000. For 13 years Folding @ Home has been going on, solving biological problem that concern Folding, which happens all the time in out body. When this happens we are protected from diseases like AIDS, Parkinson’s, Alzheimer’s, Mad Cow (BSE), CJD, ALS, Huntington’s, and other forums of cancer. This program will help us better understand how our body Folds proteins so we can make better drugs for ourselves to cure diseases. How does it do all this, that is what I’m still questioning. I still do not know everything about this, but I know it helps, so I just decided to join, knowing I am joining for a good cause. To find out more about this project, please visit the Folding @ Home homepage for more information.

http://folding.stanford.edu/

And if you decide to join, upon registering you will have an option to join a team. Feel free to join my team. The team number is 157829. Share this post to help cure cancer!!

Leave a Reply

